Aug 09 2012

Author H. A. Olsen Writes Folly Beach

The South Carolina Lowcountry has served as literary muse for the likes of Pat Conroy or Dorthea Benton Frank for years. But author, H. A. Olsen sets his Lone Palm trilogy of novels in a very specific corner of the Lowcountry: Folly Beach. The series’ location and page-turning plot lines have rocketed the series’ popularity, both locally and worldwide.

Inspired by his love of music and by witnessing the rampage of Hurricane Hugo in a very up-close way, Olsen penned his first novel A Lone Palm Stands in 2009. The story follows teenage Angela Jenkins, a gifted singer and songwriter, in the wake of 1989’s Hugo. The category 4 storm decimated Folly Beach, and Angela has to redefine herself using her talents in the midst of the destruction.

Saving Sara, the second book in the series, occurs 16 years after the first story. Angela returns to Folly to reconnect with her teenage daughter, Sara, but her daughter goes missing. “It’s a bit more of a mystery/suspense novel,” says Olsen. “But it also contains a lot of southern humor and sass.”

Three generation of women musicians are illustrated in Savannah Grace, the third novel in the Lone Palm series. Retired and now a grandmother, Angela is surprised when her granddaughter shows up a week early for a holiday visit. The addition of a mysterious ghost only adds to the plot line. And Olsen didn’t mean for Savannah Grace to be a holiday read, despite the holiday timeline. “There’s also something quite spooky going on,” Olsen explains, “So readers who like a pinch of the paranormal will definitely enjoy this one.”

H. A. Olsen’s Lone Palm series is available in print and electronic forms from Amazon or Barnes and Nobel. To learn more, visit


Bob Hart Author

Plan Your Next Visit

Search Folly Beach Vacation Homes

Book Now